Project Areas


Abia is located in the south eastern region of Nigeria. The state was created in 1991 from some regions of Imo state. Abia state is home to the city of Aba, one of the most popular commercial hubs in the country. The capital of Abia is Umuahia. The name “Abia” is an abbreviation of four of the state’s most populated areas namely Aba, Bende, Isuikwuato, and Afikpo. Abia people are indigenous Igbo people. Their conventional language is Igbo as its inhabitants are mainly Igbo people. Although English serves as the official language in governance and business. The state is statutorily divided into 3 senatorial zones and has 17 Local Government Areas (LGAs). Abia state is home to 34 LGGM Champions actively engaging in tasks to bring positive development in the area of primary health and primary education in their respective LGAs. 


Anambra is a state in southeastern Nigeria.  Awka is the  capital and seat of government. Anambra is home to some of the most popular commercial and industrial cities in Nigeria such as Onitsha, Nnewi, and Ekwulobia. The state’s slogan is “Light Of The Nation”. Anambra is an ancient landmark with  a history that dates back to the 9th century AD, as indicated by archaeological excavations at Igbo-Ukwu and Ezira. Old Anambra State was established in 1976 and its capital was Enugu. In 1991, Anambra state was divided into two states, Anambra and Enugu. The capital of Anambra is Awka. Anambra State consists of twenty-one (21) Local Government Areas and three senatorial zones. Thus, Anambra state has 42 LGGM Champions dedicated to achieving the objectives of the Local Government Good Governance Monitor Program.


Ebonyi State is a state of Nigeria, in the south of the Eastern region. Most of its occupants are Igbo. The capital and largest city in Ebonyi state  is Abakaliki.

Ebonyi was created from parts of both Enugu State and Abia State. It is the location of the Federal College of Agriculture, Ishiagu.


The name of the state derives from its capital city, Enugu. The word “Enugu” is derived from the Igbo word ‘Enu Ugwu’ which means “the top of the hill”. Enugu is popularly referred to as the Coal city because of the presence of large coal deposits. The capital of Enugu State is called Enugu. The state is dominated mainly by the Igbos. The major languages spoken in Enugu State are English which serves as the official language and Igbo which is the indigenous language of the people. Enugu has 17 Local Government Areas and 3 senatorial zones and thus, has 34 LGGM Champions (2 from each Local Government Area)

Imo State is one of the 36 States of Nigeria, located in the southeast region of the country. The state was established in 1976 when it gotten from the former East-Central State. The capital city of the state, Owerri, is often described as the entertainment capital of Nigeria. Imo State is a predominantly Igbo speaking state, with Igbo people. There are 27 Local Government Areas in Imo State and 3 senatorial zones. Thus, there are 54 LGGM Champions in Owerri who have taken up responsibility to advance efficient delivery of public health care and primary education